RSS Feed

Random Reads: A Librarian

I spend a lot of time roaming the children’s section at the library. I come home with piles of picture books to try out. I did this even before I had kids to read to. Random Reads is a weekly feature of something I found at the library and loved.

I won’t give you too much of a description of synopsis, and no spoilers! Age recommendations are only approximate. Every book I put in Random Reads is one that I have read and highly recommend. Enjoy!

20140313-070448.jpg

The Librarian of Basra by Jeanette Winter is a true and inspiring story. It’s sure to open up conversations with your people about heroism, war, and international relations. There are some potentially scary war references, so read it quietly to yourself before you share it with your kid(s). Appropriate for probably 6 and older.

Brother-Bug gives it 5 stars.
Sister-Bug gives it 4 stars.
Baby-Bug didn’t care.

If you get a chance to read this one let me know: What did you think?

Leave a Reply

