RSS Feed

Gratitude*Sunday

{Sunday's heartfelt tradition. A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful. A list of gratitudes.}

 

We are in week three of a terrible cold. It was minor at first and we delt well. Baby-Bug passed through it easily. Papa-Bug, Brother-Bug, and I are in the clear so far. But poor Sister-Bug! She's managed to get croup and now earaches in both ears. I'm writing my gratitudes this week between spells of sothing coughing and ear pain. That said, I'm grateful for…

*A wonderful arsenal of herbal knowledge and cures for this kind of thing. I might not make a living as an herbalist at this time, but the education has certainly paid itself back in the number of doctor visits and antibiotics I haven't had to use!

*Living in a time and place where medical care is accessible if we do need it.

*A good visit with my sister – a whirlwind visit from California! We had a blast celebrating her birthday, including getting some tasty waffles at Off The Waffle.

*We have Off The Waffle in our area. The best waffles ever.

*A wonderful time at the recent performance of Swan Lake. A friend gave me and Sister-Bug tickets. Brother-Bug took my mom on a “date” with his season ticket. Sister-Bug and I were seated next to people who understood a two-year old's constant questions. It had been a long time since I had seen a ballet besides The Nutcracker and I remembered how much I love classical ballet.
 
*Our friends who dance in our ballet company. My kids adore them as people and revel in the magic of knowing “real ballerinas”. The dancers adore my kids and fuel the Little-Bug's interest in theatre and fine arts. And they are really fun people to hang out with…
 
*New experiments in journaling. I got The Happiness Project One Sentence Journal for my birthday. This week I got the drawing journal 712 More Things To Draw. I love my standard journal, but breaking out of that mold has felt really inspiring.
*The earliest signs of spring! There are bulbs beginning to poke their green faces up and there has been justo hint of warm in the air many days. Spring is on its way.
 
*Some wonderful art explorations by Brother-Bug. He was slow to start drawing specific things, but in the past two months, his drawings have gotten more and more detailed and creative.
 
*Papa-Bug teaching Brother-Bug the fine art of making diner-style hamburgers for dinner while I sit with the sick girl. And they cleaned the kitchen and living room too!
 
*The way Baby-Bug stares at me with such intense sincerity while he nurses. Love those eyes.

===

This comes from a tradition of Gratitude over at WoolyMossRoots. I'm trying to be as consistent as Taryn is, and I love it when I actually get around to it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

