RSS Feed

Link Round-Up: The Housekeeping Schedule

One of my most valuable tools as an increasingly busy housewife and homeschooling mom is knowing the schedule of cleaning. If I give myself one or two tasks for each day, cleaning room-by-room throughout the week, I know what needs to be done, when it last was done, and when I can look forward to doing that job again. Each morning it is easy to check in with my kids and let them know what chores are being done that day.

On Wednesday we lean the kitchen all the way. Sister-Bug loves to scrub the stove.

I got the idea from Laura Ingalls Wilder – Wash on Monday, Iron on Tuesday… I don't actually iron much though. When I tried it on as an idea, I was amazed by how much it helps the flow of our house, and happily surprised by how much cleaner our house stayed throughout the week.

After the birth of Baby-Bug at the end of October, and the Holidays throwing everything out of kilter, I have spent most of January getting back on track and making adjustments to the schedule so that it fits with our family of five, laundry for a cloth-diapered baby, and our homeschool & activity schedule. As I have discovered and re-discovered each time our schedule has slipped, this rhythm makes every day a little easier for me (and therefore easier for everyone else).

I realize that this kind of routine or schedule might not work for everyone, but it's such a cornerstone of my housekeeping sanity, that I have collected all my related posts here, in one post for easy reference.

The Housekeeping Week – in which I get things started.

Organizing My Chores – how I made our schedule in detail.

And the Schedule, day by day.

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Here's to clean houses and sane home-keepers!

 

2 responses »

  1. Thanks for stopping by my site. I can see that you have your cleaning schedule all worked out pretty good for your household. I love the look of those toy boxes. I bet the kids like them too. Thanks for participating in the Boost Challenge.

    Julie
    I Create Purty Thangs

    Reply

Leave a Reply

