RSS Feed

Gratitude*Sunday

{Sunday's heartfelt tradition. A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful. A list of gratitudes.}

This week I have been grateful for…

*Fat, dimpled baby hands. Also a luscious double chin.

*The way frost etches, outlines, and decorates the world. Mornings cold enough to see these decorations.

*When I think about those cold mornings, I am glad that the kids and I have warm, leisurely mornings inside. What a blessing not to have to roll everyone into coats and mittens every morning!

*New Year's Eve spent with some of our chosen family in Portland. Great conversation, fun games, loving people. In the course of the trip to see them we also saw an old friend and reconnecting with him was wonderful.

*A happy girl who loved her long-anticipated first ballet class. She's been trying to sneak into Brother-Bug's class for the last several months; finally she was big enough to join her own class. She loved it and was great in class (her teacher said).

*This recipe for Honey-Marsala Pears with Gorgonzola from Nigella Lawson. It is, quite possibly, my favorite food ever. Additionally, I love that Sister-Bug likes blue cheeses as much as I do.
*A perfect new t-shirt from friends who really know me. There are few greater turn-offs for me than poor grammar and spelling – especially when that poor grammar and spelling is perpetrated intentionally.
*Time to clean up my art-room after the holiday madness. It inspires the beginning of a new project…or several new projects. As it turns out, there is a floor in there!
*A fabulous get-together with my local Mama group – including meeting a dear friend's three-week old! I love my community of moms.
*My two boys sleeping in late together one morning. They just snuggled together and kept sleeping. It was very lovely.
*This moment. Good beer, sleeping baby, Kind of Blue, writing…
(Yeah…I'm just going to enjoy that for a minute…)

*Sister-Bug's lovely curls. I've always had straight hair. I love my hair now, but I desperately longed for curls when I was a little girl. I'm loving some vicarious curls on my daughter.

*The way relationships refine and redefine as the years roll on. After almost 11 years there are still things to learn about Papa-Bug. We still find new rhythms and “ah ha” moments. We continue to learn and grow, and I love the moments that remind me how that process is always happening between us.

*A really good birthday. Papa-Bug gave me the best present all day – keeping the kitchen clean! I got thoughtful presents, good food, a quiet day at home, and lots of love. The Little-Bugs are behaving well. The house is fairly tidy and clean. The birthday banner is up. I'm looking forward to dinner, sundaes, and games.

This comes from a tradition of Gratitude over at WoolyMossRoots. I'm trying to be as consistent as Taryn is, and I love it when I actually get around to it!

 

2 responses »

  1. What a lovely week you have all had, so much to be grateful for.

    Reply
  2. Happy Birthday!

    P.S. Adorable ballerina and snuggling boys.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

