RSS Feed

Gratitude*Sunday

{Sunday's heartfelt tradition. A time to slow down, to reflect, to be grateful. A list of gratitudes.}

Gratitude is deep this week. It's coming along with prayer and meditation and deep thought. It's the little things that keep grabbing me.

*As I write this, the Little-Bugs are singing rendition after rendition of Jingle Bells and cracking themselves up. I am enjoying the creativity, how much they enjoy each other, that they both love to sing, and just the noise in general. Too many houses are too quiet, this week in particular.

*The ability to write things out. I am so thankful that I have words and syntax to express things that I need to sort through.

*I am always grateful that we homeschool – especially in the mornings when we are lingering over our breakfast. I am doubly grateful for our choice right now. I don't think I could send my kids off to school on Monday. I'm glad I have my kids with me, even when they are driving me crazy.

*A good birthday for Papa-Bug. I wanted to post a birthday card for him here, but I was up to my elbows in dinner preparations all day. A good friend came for dinner, everything turned out, he enjoyed all his gifts, and it went off without a hitch. Even the Little-Bugs worked really hard to cooperate during the day and be polite and kind during dinner.

*A hot cup of strong black tea. Enough said.

*Eating a cookie when the kids weren't looking. Other parents know that the best treats are the secret ones…

*The local dancers who perform an abbreviated version of The Nutcracker for free at the local libraries, so that kids can be exposed to the arts. The commitment and dedication of the dancers, teachers, administrators, and parents means more kids get to see dance. And that's important.

*Looking at old photos with Papa-Bug. For his birthday I organized old photos, made albums, and sorted through the piles of print photos that had been sitting around. It was a fun project to do, and especially fun to look at the pictures again with him.
*A dear friend having a beautiful baby boy! She had a very long labor and was strong and courageous throughout. And her son is beautiful. I can't wait to meet him.
*Always, always, all-ways grateful for these three cut-ups.

In my surfeit of blessings, I pray for those who have lost this week.

===

This comes from a tradition of Gratidude over at WoolyMossRoots. I'm trying to be as consistent as Taryn is, and I love it when I actually get around to it!

2 responses »

  1. ❤ a beautiful list, have a wonderful week.

    Reply
  2. Beautiful list and those pictures of your family are great!

    P.S. One of your friends came and said hello last weekend. Now I am forgetting her name.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

