RSS Feed

Gratitude*Sunday

I almost forgot this week. But just at the last minute I remembered that here it is on Sunday! Gratitude! There is always so very much, every week…every day… But today I am focusing on:
* Baby-Bug has figured out responsive smiling! Now when he sees me, we can smile at each other, or he can smile at the wall, or his hand, or even his sister and brother. This is always so magical. It's such a big step into person-hood! I can't believe he is already six-weeks old.

* Finding a comfortable resolution for our Christmas Day plans. Due to family travels and the arrival of Baby-Bug (remember we were planning on him arriving around Thanksgiving instead of Halloween…) our usual plans, our annual traditions, are different this year. We've been trying to find a place where our desires and logistics can balance for the holiday and just today we worked it out. I'm relieved about that.

* A good brunch with my adopted brother who we hadn't seen in Way Too Long. I love good friends and family who inspire good conversation.

* Fixing the lights in our Winter Village. It's a decoration from my childhood, the Little-Bug's favorite, and almost as important a fixture as the Tree. But the lights didn't work this year, I had to take it all down, get new lights, and put it back up. Now the lights shines from the wee windows and it feels much more festive around here.

* Seeing my breath on cold days. This has always been a favorite of mine.

* A moment of inspiration that inspired some good dress-up, creative learning, and hilarious photos. I'm not posting it now – that picture is for a specific post.

* Seeing the pictures of queer couples getting married in Washington this week. It's amazing to me that the issue of gay marriage is controversial at all, and I am so glad that it is getting to be less of an issue all the time.

* Going grocery shopping all by myself. I even went out for coffee first. It's not a tropical vacation by any means, but I sure enjoyed the heck out of my hour or so all on my own.

* Making cookies. Lots of cookies of all kinds. Licking bowls, tasting dough, colorful frostings, sprinkles all over everything…and the many photo opportunities that come with cookies.

* Papa-Bug fixing the door knob on the front door – finally! Those minor annoyances an sniffling tasks feel so good when they are done.

* Our Christmas lights. Every time we drive up to the house in the dark, the cheerful lights make me happy that this is my home.

===

This comes from a tradition of Gratidude over at WoolyMossRoots. I'm trying to be as consistent as Taryn is, and I love it when I actually get around to it!

One response »

  1. Wonderful list!
    Seeing christmas lights at night is so cozy! 🙂
    And I LOVE that big baby smile… so sweet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

