RSS Feed

Go Vote!

I've posted a couple of times about Brother-Bug's gender flexibility. I don't have any idea where and when he might discover his orientation, and how these adventures might manifest as a part of his life. I don't know if he will date girls, boys, or both…though recently he did wistfully remark that he wanted to dress up like Elton John…

I care about his orientation the same way I care about his eventual career or vocation. I want him to be fulfilled and happy and feel whole in his decisions. I want him to be a good person and do something that makes the world more beautiful. I want him to know the amazing love that comes when you find someone you want to share your world with, the way I love his Papa-Bug, and I want him to have a family if he wants to go down that road.

Tomorrow is Election Day. Tomorrow we follow my son's instructional photo and

VOTE!

 

VOTE!

I didn't think I would feel so strongly about the issue of marriage equality, but then I read this article. And I realized that my vote, and your vote, is about whether or not my son might someday be a second class citizen. Will we vote in the President who wants my son to have the same rights as his Papa and I have regardless of the person he is? Or will we make the decision to tell our LGBTQ friends and family, and possibly Brother-Bug, that they don't deserve the same rights as the rest of us?

There are lots of reasons to vote, and specifically to vote for Barak Obama. But this is my issue this year. I want to go to my friends' wedding…and someday I hope to go to my son's wedding regardless of who he loves and wants to marry.

Another group of kids who will be affected by this election? Kids who are in families who are denied the right to marriage. Read this letter from a ten-year old to President Obama, then read this piece that contains the President's response. How can anyone not support this child's family and the love inherent in it?

So go get your ballot. Vote for equality. Vote for our children's future, especially our queer children. Please.

===

Want more reasons and voting inspiration? Read this, by Papa-Bug!

 

Leave a Reply

